The Great Eight: SUNY, Chancellor Kristina M. Johnson, Name 2019 Award Winners

SUNY honored eight members of the SUNY Cobleskill community in 2019. Their collective dedication to the College, its vision, mission, and values, make this year’s honorees a distinguished class.

The Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence honors SUNY students who best-demonstrate the integration of academic excellence with other aspects of their lives, such as leadership, campus involvement, athletics, career achievement, community service, or creative and performing arts. Recipients from all 64 SUNY institutions gather at a ceremony in Albany in April to receive their awards. This year’s winner was Allison Finch.

Finch, a Binghamton native and Animal Science major, held leadership roles in four campus organizations in 2018-19, and is currently vice president of the Student Government Association. She has presented at two Northeast Regional Honors Council Conferences, and is actively involved in campus-wide community service initiatives.

“It is fitting that the Award for Student Excellence recognizes the vast and diverse accomplishments of its winners,” says College President Marion A. Terenzio. “In Allison’s case this award spans a broad spectrum of success that not only makes our campus a better place to live and learn, but prepares Allison for success in her academic, social, and professional endeavors. This is a well-earned honor.”

2019 Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence Recipients

SUNY Cobleskill proudly confers SUNY System-level honors to members of faculty and staff for superior professional achievement, and to encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence. As part of this spring’s Commencement ceremony, the College celebrated three community members with Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence.

Donna Magill, recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Classified Service

Kevin Moore, recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching

Raymond Roes, recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service

“This year’s Chancellor’s Award recipients share a longstanding commitment to our institution and, most importantly, the success of our students,” says President Terenzio. “We are proud that Kevin, Raymond, and Donna have earned recognition that is so well deserved. It was a pleasure to share a special part of Commencement weekend with all three.”

2019 SUNY Scholar Athlete Award Recipients

SUNY Scholar Athletes are nominated by the director of athletics, with consideration given to athletic and academic achievements. The credentials of each nominated student-athlete are reviewed by a panel of athletic directors from across SUNY, as well as members of the SUNY provost’s office.

Karyn Knaul – Early Childhood Studies: Birth to Age 5, Volleyball

Katherine Noncarrow – Animal Science, Women’s Swimming & Diving

Tianran Pan, Biotechnology, Men’s Swimming & Diving

Amanda Pelosi, Animal Science, Women’s Equestrian (Western)

“It is an incredible honor for our student-athletes to earn this distinction from SUNY,” says College President Marion A. Terenzio, “though one that for these outstanding four Fighting Tigers is entirely deserved. It has been our absolute privilege to have the opportunity to witness the achievements of Katherine, Karyn, Tianran, and Amanda. I congratulate them on behalf of the entire campus community.”

Feature photo: Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence Winner Allison Finch, with President Marion A. Terenzio and SUNY Chancellor Kristina M. Johnson, at the Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence ceremony.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Popular News